top of page

Why I am Majoring in Digital Marketing & You Should Too.

If you read my last post "What is Digital Marketing" and were intrigued by the growing field then perhaps a major in Digital Marketing is for you. Now I have a slightly biased opinion in this matter, being a Digital Major minor myself, however I truly believe this is one of the best majors to acquire.

Why do I say this? Let me first take you through my decision:

I entered my collegiate career at the University of Michigan-Dearborn knowing that Marketing was for me. I liked the idea of positioning new products in the market, conducting studies/focus groups/pop-up shops etc. However, It wasn't until after my Marketing Management course that I thought "I never ever want to cost analysis' again." I don't hate numbers and quantitative analysis (I actually find it as a nice change up from constant reading assignments) but I prefer to be more hands on in getting the brand/product awareness out there for new consumers. I then found myself in my first digital marketing class, and you know that "click" everyone talks about when you finally find an area that interests you? Well, that happened. From the first day I knew that I preferred digital marketing, so going on a whim I changed my major the next week (after 2 more DM classes). I DO NOT REGRET MY DECISION!

I love my DM class, I throughly enjoy the projects and analysis that it requires.

Digital Marketing is challenging but in a good way, in a way that makes you want to get better. I am working closely with Google's various tools (i.e. AdWords, working planner) and am on route to get certified. We are learning develop a website from a web 2.o platform, optimize it, and get ranked by search engines. DM makes me feel in control of a product/company's online presence, in a way I am the reason that they are getting traffic, and that's pretty rewarding. I swear i'm not as nerdy as that just sounded!

If you need a little more convincing beyond my testimony here is an awesome video:

bottom of page